The Hunger Games

Part One

Book: Collins, S.(2008). The hunger games. New York,NY: Scholastic Press

Usage Information:  This book can be used, I believe anywhere from 5-9th grade.  I think because it’s content is a little bit more mature I would prefer to use it around 6/7th grade.  As a challanged book it may rise controversy.

Part Two

Thoughts about the craft: I absolutely love this book.  I think it is extremely well written, in an easy to read manor that pulls you in making you not want to put it down.  The characters are all very relatable, some may not be as loveable, but that is what makes the book so intense, the characters are very real.  The book lays very heavily on emotion, everything that happens goes into great detail that makes you truly feel what is going on.

Personal Connections to the Book: I think this book is one, where everyone can relate to in some way.  One of the characters is bound to resignate with students across the world.  Personally I feel like I can relate to Katniss, I have two much younger brothers and have always felt a very mothering role to them.  Fortunately my mom wasn’t as checked out as Katniss’ but I still care for them often and become very protective and would do anything to protect them, even if it meant putting my life on the line.

Part Three

After doing a lot of research on censorship and challanged books, I still am at a loss to why this one makes the list. I know that some people say it conflicts with religious viewpoints, and I am a believer that religions are to be respected.  I don’t feel that the violence in this book is too much, although there is death and murder(obviously), I don’t see it as grousum or out of control.

Part Four

Lesson: I found several lessons that I got really excited about, my favorite lesson idea is for students to create facebooks pages for each character.  There is an education facebook page that can be created by the teacher and the students would have acsess to it, they would each have a character to post as and as they are reading the book they would have to comment on things that are happening, even if their character isn’t in that scene.

Objective: The 7th grade students will take on the minds of individual characters from the book, and post on the class Facebook while reading the book.

Discussion Questions:

  1. Why do you think The Hunger Games series is a bestseller? What about the series appeals to so many people?
  2. Which character in The Hunger Games do you relate to? Why?
  3. Does a tribute ever really win the Hunger Games? Why or why not?
  4. Was it wrong of Katniss to act like she was in love with Peeta if she wasn’t sure of her true feelings? Why or why not?
  5. When is violence entertainment? When is violence just violence?
  6. How does our family background, our class, or our occupation change the way we see the world?

Outside Resources

http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/03/15/the-odds-ever-in-your-favor-ideas-and-resources-for-teaching-the-hunger-games/?_php=true&_type=blogs&_r=1

http://historytech.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/8-hunger-games-lesson-plans-resources-and-activities/

http://www.hungergameslessons.com

Leave a Reply

